top of page

11 Traditional Religious Vows


Wedding Vows

Here are a collection of 11 Traditional Religious Vows

1. Basic Protestant Vows

I_____ take thee, _______ , to be my wedded wife/husband, to have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do us part, according to God’s holy ordinance; and thereto I pledge thee my faith (or) pledge myself to you (or) plight thee my troth.

2. Lutheran Vows

I take you, _____, to be my wife/husband from this day forward, to join with you and share all that is to come, and I promise to be faithful to you until death parts us.

I, ____, take you, ______, to be my wife/husband, and these things I promise you: I will be faithful to you and honest with you; I will respect, trust, help, and care for you; I will share my life with you; I will forgive you as we have been forgiven; and I will try with you better or understand ourselves, the world, and God; through the best and the worst is to come, as long as we live.

3. Episcopal Vows

______, wilt thou have this woman/man to be thy wedded wife/husband to live together after God’s ordinance in the Holy Estate of matrimony? Wilt thou love her/him? Comfort her/him, honor and keep her/him, in sickness and in health, and forsaking all other keep thee only unto her/him as long as you both shall live?

In the name of God, I, _____, take you, ________, to be my wife/Husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and health, to love and to cherish, until we are parted by death. This is my solemn vow.

4. Methodist Vows

Will you have this woman/man to be your wife/husband, to live together in a holy marriage? Will you love her/him, comfort her/him, honor and keep her/him in sickness and in health, and forsaking all others, be faithful to her/him as long as you both shall live?

In the name of God, I, _____, take you, _______, to be my wife/husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, until we are parted by death. This is my solemn vow.

5. Presbyterian Vows

______, wilt thou have this woman/man to be thy wife/husband, and wilt thou pledge thy faith to her/him, in all love and honor, in all duty and service, in all faith and tenderness, to live with her/him, and cherish her/him, according to the ordinance of God in the holy bond of marriage?

I, ________-, take you, _________, to be my wedding wife/ husband, and I do promise and covenant, before God and these witnesses, to be your loving and faithful husband/wife, in plenty and want, in joy and in sorrow, in sickness and in health, as long as we both shall live.

6. Baptist Vows

Will you, _____, have _____ to be your wife/husband? Will you love her/him, comfort and keep her/him, and forsaking all others remain true to her/him, as long as you both shall live?

I, ____, take thee, _____, to be my wife/husband, and before God and these witnesses I promise to be faithful and true husband/wife.

7. Roman Catholic Vows

I,_____, take you, _________, to be my wife/husband. I promise to be true to you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health. I will love you and honor you all the days of my life.

I, ____, take you,_______, for my lawful wife/husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and health, until death do us part.

8. Eastern Orthodox Vows

I,_____, take you,_________ as my wedded wife/husband, and I promise you love, honor, and respect; to be faithful to you; and not forsake you until death do us part. So help me God, one in the Holy Trinity, and all the saints.

9. Unitarian Vows

I, _____, take you, ______, to be my wife/husband; to have and to hold form this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and cherish always.

_________, will you take _____ to be your wife/husband; love, honor, and cherish her/him now and forevermore?

10. Jewish Vows

Reform

Do you ____, take ______ to be your wife/husband, promising to cherish and protect her/him, whether in good fortune or in adversity, and to seek together with her/him a life hallowed by the faith of Israel?

Conservative

Do you, _____, take _____ to be your lawfully weeded wife/husband, to love, to honor, and to cherish?

11. Muslim Vows

Bride: I. ______. Offer you myself in marriage in accordance with the instructions of the Holy Koran and the Holy Prophet, peace and blessing be upon him. I pledge, in honesty and with sincerity, to be for you an obedient and faithful wife.

Groom: I pledge, in honesty and sincerity, to be for you a faithful and helpful husband.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page